www.gov.lk Sinhala Ganna Tamil Ganna
Sinhala (Sri Lanka)Tamil (Sri Lanka)
You are here  : Home Issue of Passports
New Procedure for ETA Exempted Countries PDF Print E-mail

The ETA exempted countries; Maldives, Singapore & Seychelles also have included in to the ETA system and exemption facility for such countries has been temporarily suspended with effect from 2020.03.15, 12.00 p.m. (Sri Lanka Time) until further notice.

However, currently all types of visa issuance to enter Sri Lanka and all types of Electronic Travel Authorizations (ETA)/ Entry Visas, Landing Endorsements, Multiple Entry Visas and Residence Visas already granted have been temporarily suspended. Hence the foreign nationals are not allowed to enter Sri Lanka temporarily.

Therefore the foreign nationals of above countries, who wish to travel to Sri Lanka, shall apply their visa via online through ETA web site (www.eta.gov.lk) after a further notice of accepting the requests for visa to enter Sri Lanka.


News & Events

Important Notice

Please be informed that all types of visa applicants are permitted to enter this department ONLY on prior appointment basis due to the Covid 19 pandemic. Applicants without prior appointment will not be allowed to enter the departmental premises under any circumstances.

Regional Office, Kurunegala shifted to a new building

The Regional Office, Kurunegala of this Department has been shifted to a new building at, No. 95, Negombo Road, Kurunegala from 05thOctober 2020.


Foreign Nationals are not allowed to enter Sri Lanka until further notice

All types of Visas already granted to all foreign nationals and not arrived to Sri Lanka yet, have been temporarily suspended. They will not be allowed to enter Sri Lanka until further notice.

Suspension of issuance of Visas in Sri Lanka due to the COVID – 19 Outbreak

All types of Visa issuance to enter Sri Lanka for all countries have been temporarily suspended